Scorpio Risen

Since I’m 18 soon…

Posted on: 18 July, 2007

…I am considering a tattoo. I’ve always been more open to the concept of tatts than piercings, ‘cos I’ve always felt they can be more personal.

I’m thinking something like this on my hip or something. I was originally going to have the words: “Sisterhood is Powerful” written around it, but I’ve always been wondering whether to choose any of the following:

“Revolution GRRL Style Now!”

“Viva La Revolution/Revolucion!”

“Feminista!”

Or

“Feminism is the radical notion that women are people”

What do y’all think? Any other suggestions?

Man, I’m tired/bored. πŸ™‚

10 Responses to "Since I’m 18 soon…"

I like “Sisterhood is Powerful” (maybe in a cool typeface) and the female symbol.
I’d recommend getting a small tattoo, because even when people really like theirs, sometimes they don’t feel comfortable about showing it all the time (like at a more formal/traditional job).
In the US, we have associations where we can check on the safety records of piercers/tattoo artists, so if they have one in the UK, it might be a good idea to check.
(I’m actually a Scorpio too πŸ™‚ )

“Man, I’m tired/bored.”

I’d go for that one.

LM- Oh, it wouldn’t be huge, and it’d be somewhere somewhat subtle, like my hip or something πŸ™‚

CG- Lol, that wasn’t actually a suggestion! ha! πŸ™‚

You are not worried about objectifying yourself? You are still very young and you will change a lot when you get older, so one day you there is a real possibility that you are not a feminist aymore. Feminism can’t survive every clash with reality and its beginning to show.

“Feminism can’t survive every clash with reality and its beginning to show.”
*Yawns*

Gnu- It’s my body; if I want a tatt, I’ll fucking get one.
Don’t patronise me on MY blog.

“You are still very young and you will change a lot when you get older, so one day you there is a real possibility that you are not a feminist aymore.”

Umm, sure people change, but I can’t see myself deciding that actually the rights and justices of my own sex are no longer worth fighting for, unless I see the revolution in my time…

Amy, I have that symbol as a badge on my bag. It’s a really strong, bold image. It would look great on its own, but out of your suggestions I’d go with ‘feminista’.

I have tats & I love all mine.

I knew the minute I had the concept what it would be..and when I saw it drawn I was in love all over again!

I have one on my shoulder that is huge & I love it! As someone a good bit older than you are (almost 38), I wanted to make sure that old age wouldnt sag it…….

make sure that you have researched your artist & make sure they do things to protect you as you get inked up.

Be prepared…once you get inked its an addiction…..LOL

best of luck & I love your idea!

When I was 18, I got a tattoo of the Scorpio symbol on my arm. Seems that would fit you, too. πŸ™‚

hey πŸ™‚ i dont know you and this is an older entry but..
i was searching for the feminist fist symbol online cause.. i want a tattoo. and next to my hip-bone, too! ha. thats a nice coincidence i thought. im getting it done on thursday evening. im terribly excited. have you dont yours by now? what does it loke like then?
gosh.. im excited πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

