Scorpio Risen

Sixth Age of Rock

Posted on: 24 June, 2007

T’was called “Left of the Dial – American Alternative Rock”, and they focussed largely on R.E.M and Nirvana. They mentioned other bands too, like Black Flag, Sonic Youth (well, they didn’t, I just saw one of their posters with my eagle eyes, but meh, I think they’re an alroight kinda band ;)), Sound Garden, Alice In Chains, The Pixies, The Replacements, Hüsker Dü, Pearl Jam, Smashing Pumpkins. Although I do like R.E.M and I love Nirvana, I really wish that they’d also spent a bit more time on some of t’other bands, especially Pearl Jam and Smashing Pumpkins and, oh yeah, Hole. (They mentioned Courtney Love, but only in the context of Kurt’s wife and mother of his child…).

R.E.M

Nirvana

Methinks this was the last recorded Nirvana song, and the video was made after Kurt’s death, only about a couple of years ago.

Pearl Jam

Smashing Pumpkins

One of my alltime favourite songs 🙂

SoundgardenWarning – usually on music channels, they issue epilepsy warnings with this video

Hole

Next week, it’s the final – and it’s a whole 90minutes on British Indie.

3 Responses to "Sixth Age of Rock"

Hey, I saw this and have blogged about it myself. Like you say, they could’ve spent more time on the other (more superior, IMO) bands! I knew they’d ignore them though…

Great vids!

I was about seven years old when Kurt Cobain died, but I went through this total grunge music phase as a teenager, because I just wasn’t into pop or rap. I have almost every single Hole CD, even a few rare ones 😉

If you’re into the Seattle scene look up a movie called “HYPE!”

I was in high school at the height of the “alternative” and “grunge” madness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

